March 24, 2021

Sent via E-mail

Rob Cormier, President Amalgamated Transit Union, Local 1587 701 Evans Avenue, Suite 600 Toronto, ON M9C 1A3

Dear Mr. Cormier:

Re: Vaccine Prioritization

ATU Locals should be aware that yesterday, the Ontario government released more information about how essential workers in Ontario would be prioritized for vaccination. Many of the details are contained in the Ministry of Health's updated "<u>COVID-19 Guidance</u> for Prioritization of Phase 2 Populations for COVID-19 Vaccination."

Most notably, transit workers as a class are in the second category of essential workers prioritized for the vaccines in the latter half of Phase Two. **Ontario's current estimates suggest vaccination for transit workers will commence sometime in June.**

However, Phase Two, Secondary Priority has itself been split into two groups. The first group to be vaccinated will be workers such as first responders, education workers, agricultural and food manufacturing workers). **Transit workers will not be vaccinated until after this group.**

ATU Locals should also be aware that some of their members, especially those over 50 or with specific medical conditions, may be eligible for the vaccines sooner. Phase Two, Primary Priority commences in April, and includes:

- Adults aged 60 79 years of age, starting with those 75 79 in April and decreasing in 5-year increments
- Individuals with specific health conditions:
 - organ transplant recipients, hematopoietic stem cell transplant recipients, neurological diseases where respiratory function may be compromised, obesity (BMI > 40), treatments causing immunosuppression (e.g. chemotherapy, immunity-weakening medications)

• Adults aged 50+ in COVID-19 Hot Spot Communities¹, starting with older individuals and decreasing with age.

¹ The following PHUs have "<u>Hot Spot Communities</u>": Durham Region Health Department, Halton Region Public Health, City of Hamilton Public Health Services, Niagara Region Public Health, Ottawa Public Health, Peel Public Health, Simcoe-Muskoka District Health Unit, Region of Waterloo Public Health and Emergency Services, Wellington-Dufferin Guelph Public Health, Windsor-Essex County Health Unit, York Region Public Health, Toronto Public Health, Southwestern Public Health.